Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Instagram Rss YouTube
Get news and offers Search...

Sun 19 May 2019

Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall

Toutes Suites (Bach’s Complete Orchestral Suites)

Time: 6:00pm

Admission: 55 - 126.50 PLN

Venue website: view

Venue telephone: +48 (0) 22 55 17 111

Book now Close

Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 1
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 2
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 4

Margaret Faultless director/ violin
Lisa Beznosiuk flute

The balance of pleasure.

Order and moderation versus rebellion and pleasure. Battling forces at the heart of us, in between which lies that elusive ideal we call happiness.

Bach achieved a balance of pleasures with his set of Orchestral Suites. After years in the service of various church employers, he let loose with a bit of Gallic flair, trying his hand at writing in various styles of French dance music.

In each Orchestral Suite, Bach brings his usual mathematical precision to the gigues, gavottes and minuets that were the popular music of the day. Less well-known than the The Brandenburgs but just as fascinating, enjoy this collection in its entirely with the period instrument orchestra that plays them best.

Venue details

Book now

No Comments