Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Instagram Rss YouTube
Get news and offers Search...

Sat 16 Mar 2019

Vatroslav Lisinski Concert Hall

Brahms Piano Concerto no.1. with Sir András Schiff

Time: 7:30pm

Venue website: view

Venue telephone: +385 1 6121 111

Book now Close
Brahms Piano Concerto

Schumann Konzertstück for Four Horns
Schumann Symphony No.4
Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1

Sir András Schiff conductor/ piano

Written 22 years apart, Brahms’ only piano concertos are snapshots of his life. The first is youthful, raw and expressive; the second is mature, structured and wiser. Both embody radical ideas of the 19th century, when revolution was in the air and artists joined political movements to overturn the old order.

We perform Brahms’ blockbuster Piano Concerto no.1 with Sir András Schiff, an extraordinary pianist and one of the world’s finest musicians. To complement the piano concerto he also conducts music by Brahm’s mentor and inspiration, Robert Schumann, exploring the complex interplay between political turmoil and personal anguish in composer’s life.

This concert features Schumann’s spectacular Konzertstück for Four Horns. Watch the video to hear our Principal Horn, Roger Montgomery, play all four parts of one section simultaneously. He also introduces the replica 19th century horn he’s had made especially for the concert. 

Venue details

Book now

No Comments